Let’s crack on!

Leicestershire schools returned this week (Monday 24th), with pupils returning to us gradually from Wednesday onward. Year 7, 12 and 13 Wednesday, Year 7, 11, 12 and 13 Thursday and Year 8,9 and 10 Friday. There was a crackle of excitement in the air on Monday as staff saw each other for the first time in 5 months and that crackle turned into a roaring fire on Wednesday when the pupils arrived.

Obviously things were different in order to keep everyone safe, obviously things will take some getting used to, pupils sanitising their hands and wiping their tables down etc but nothing that we won’t be used to in a week or two. School felt safe, school felt, well…like school but with a bit more distance between us and a generous amount of hand washing.

What hasn’t changed for me though is clear and consistent routines and focused learning. When I had my first year 7 class on Thursday afternoon I had mentally been planning the lesson in my head for about two weeks (such was my excitement). I’d introduce myself, check that everyone was feeling okay/acknowledge that things have been very odd for all of us and explain my expectations to them, then…I’d crack on.

What I witnessed over the week was happy pupils who were keen for routine and a sense of ‘normality’, to me that doesn’t include extensive discussion of the lockdown period or Coronavirus. It includes quality teaching and learning.

I do want to make something explicitly clear here. I am fully aware that my context is probably completely different to some and there may well be situations where teaching staff feel they need to discuss what has happened with pupils in more detail. That’s fine, one size does not fit all.

Ahead of the rest of the country returning this week, I’ve listed a few of my recommended approaches and musings based on my own experience:

  1. Reiterate rules and routines – Most pupils may not have experienced a school environment for 5 months, getting back into the swing of things may take time. For year 7s they’ll be in a completely new building and environment. Be clear about the basic rules and routines of the school and your classroom, equipment, behaviour etc. Refer back to them when appropriate e.g. A pupil talks over you. Ask them to stop and reiterate your expectations. Repeat to fade.
  2. Be patient – Some pupils may not have picked up a pen in 5 months, they’re used to going to the toilet whenever they want (and so am I!). It’s been 5 months since they sat in a classroom for 5 hours and had to focus, it will be tiring. Don’t let it go, pick up on things like slouching, staring out of the window, lack of effort and reinforce your expectations again – their resilience will come back, with time. Sam Strickland’s ‘Warm Strict’ approach regarding school expectations is at the forefront of my mind here.
  3. Crack on – It’s possible to show that you care and can provide support without spending a lot of time in lessons focusing on the lockdown period. That does not mean ‘pretend it never happened’, it means acknowledge it, signpost pupils to where they can get support, explain that we’re all in this together, we can all keep each other safe and be back in school learning as long as we are considerate of each other. Then get teaching! It’s what we need and want, it’s what pupils need and want. Start your usual schemes of work, start filling them with knowledge. Making sure not to cognitively overload them, that is.

After one week back in school the key word for me is balance. Pupils need to feel safe and listened to but they also need to learn and be challenged. They’ll be looking forward to it. Promise.

 

Leave a comment